George Seferis//Γιώργος Σεφέρης

Posted: 08/12/2016 by vequinox in Literature

Manolis

George Seferis_cover

George Seferis’ Speech at the Nobel Banquet at the City Hall in Stockholm, December 10, 1963 (Translation)

I feel at this moment that I am a living contradiction. The Swedish Academy has decided that my efforts in a language famous through the centuries but not widespread in its present form are worthy of this high distinction. It is paying homage to my language – and in return I express my gratitude in a foreign language.

I hope you will accept the excuses I am making to myself. I belong to a small country. A rocky promontory in the Mediterranean, it has nothing to distinguish it but the efforts of its people, the sea, and the light of the sun. It is a small country, but its tradition is immense and has been handed down through the centuries without interruption. The Greek language has never ceased to be spoken. It has…

View original post 1,165 more words

Leave a Reply

