IMAGES OF ABSENCE

Posted: 05/12/2016 by vequinox in Aligizakis Manolis, Art, Canadian greek Poet, Greek National Literary Awards, Literature
Tags: , , , ,

images of absence cover

ΙΔΕΑΛΙΣΤΗΣ

Στου τοίχου το σύνορο ο Χάρος στεκόταν. Τον είδα

κι αχνά του γέλασα κι ο άκαρδος έπαιξε

κίβδηλα τα νομίσματα στη τσέπη του σα

να `λεγε κι εσένα, τον ιδεαλιστή, κάποια στιγμή

θα σ’ αγοράσω κι ο αγέρας που γλυκόπαιζε

με τα μαλλιά σου

αγαπημένη

μου θύμιζε ερωτικό τραγούδι που με

το χάιδεμά του έψελνα την ομορφιά σου

νόημα κάμπου εύφορου που ατένισα με δάκρια

στα μάτια.

Πάλεψα απεγνωσμένα με το θεριό μέσα μου

και με τραγούδι μέλισσας

στο χάος του κορμιού μου θέλησα να χαρίσω

μελωδία που να μιλά για χρέος και γι’ αθανασία

έννοια που τόσο ξαφνικά με συνεπήρε

και δεν μπορούσα τα δάκρια να συγκρατήσω

ο κόλπος σου στιγμής παράδεισος που

ν’ απιθώσω ήθελα τον υπερούσιο εαυτό μου

τίποτα να μην αφήσω στα κακόβουλα χέρια

της μοίρας

IDEALIST

Hades stood at the edge of the wall. I saw him,

smiled at him, and him, the heartless,

played with his worthless coins in his pocket

as if saying, even you, the idealist,

I shall someday buy out

And the wind joyfully played with your hair,

my beloved,

reminding me of an erotic song that

with its caress I hymned your beauty

meaning of the barren plain I gazed

with tears in my eyes.

Desperately I fought against the beast

inside me

and with the song of the bee my ally

I longed to apply onto chaos a melody

that talked of duty and immortality

concept that much overtook me

I couldn’t hold my tears and

your womb a momentary heaven

where I yearned to entrust my superior self

nothing to leave in the hands of the capricious

Fate

IMAGES OF ABSENCE, Ekstasis Editions, Victoria, BC, 2015

www.ekstasiseditions.com

www.manolisaligizakis.com

Leave a Reply

