From Michigan’s Cavafy Chair to Greece’s Cavafy heirs

Posted: November 5, 2016 by vequinox in Literature

Piano Poetry Pantelis Politics

I gave an interview to The National Herald, a NY weekly newspaper, ranging from 200 years of Greek life on the Michigan campus to the Greek poetry Generation of the 2000s. Below the clippings is the full version of my written responses to written questions from Ms. Aria Socratous, distinguished contributor to the paper.

Lambropoulos

Lambropoulos_2

1. Who I am
I was born, nurtured, and educated in Athens. In the late 1970s, while in graduate school, I saw Greece headed for a major national crisis and left permanently to become an academic in the U.S. For the last 35 years I am having a wonderful career as a Professor of Modern Greek. I have contributed substantially to the growth of full-fledged Modern Greek Programs at two major public universities, The Ohio State University and the University of Michigan. I am uncontrollably proud to have as my indispensable collaborator an eminent third-generation…

View original post 1,233 more words

Leave a Reply

