Odysseus Elytis

Posted: October 8, 2016 by vequinox in Aligizakis Manolis, Elytis, Literature
Tags: , , ,

odysseus-alepoudelis-elytis

ΗΛΙΟΣ Ο ΠΡΩΤΟΣ

 

Ι

 

Δεν ξέρω πια τη νύχτα φοβερή ανωνυμία θανάτου

Στο μυχό της ψυχής μου αράζει στόλος άστρων.

Έσπερε φρουρέ για να λάμπεις πλάι στο ουρανί

Αεράκι ενός νησιού που με ονειρεύεται

Ν’ αναγγέλω την αυγή από τα ψηλά του βράχια

Τα δυο μάτια μου αγκαλιά σε πλέουνε με το άστρο

Της σωστής μου καρδιάς. Δεν ξέρω πια τη νλυχτα.

 

Δεν ξέρω πια τα ονόματα ενός κόσμου που μ’ αρνιέται

Καθαρά διαβάζω τα όστρακα τα φύλλα τ’ άστρα

Η έχθρα μου είναι περιττή στους δρόμους τ’ ουρανού

Εξόν κι αν είναι τ’ όνειρο που με ξανακοιτάζει

Με δάξρυα να διαβαλινω της αθανασίας τη θάλασσα

Έσπερε κάτω απ’ την καμπύλη της χρυσής φωτιάς σου

Τη νύχτα που είναι μόνο νύχτα δεν τη ξέρω πια.

 

 

SUN THE FIRST

 

I

 

I no more know the night horrible anonymity of death

in the inlet of my soul a fleet of stars moors

that you, guarding Hesperus, would shine next to the sky

light breeze of an island dreaming of me

pronouncing the dawn from its high rocks

my two eyes sail you along with the star

of my true heart: I no more know the night.

 

I no more know the names of a world that denies me

clearly I read the ostracons, the leaves, the stars

hatred is superfluous to me in the roads of the sky

unless it’s the dream looking at me again

in tears that I pass through the sea of immortality

oh Hesperus, under the contour of your golden fire

the night which is only night I no more know.

 

 

Translated by Manolis Aligizakis

 

www.manolisaligizakis.com

Leave a Reply

